Upcycled Bridesmaid Dress

I have too many bridesmaid dresses. They’re perfectly nice when you wear them at our friend’s wedding, but in the end they always end up in the back of a closet collecting dust. Bride’s try to reassure you when you buy the dress that “It’s totally reusable! It will make a fine cocktail dress!” It won’t. It will always look like a bridesmaid dress. (Side note: I’m pretty sure I told my own bridesmaids the same lie. Sorry!)

So, now I am on a mission of dismantling  these dusty gowns for parts. First up:

Sam and I after too many mimosas at a Brunch-Time Wedding

 

Once again, a perfectly nice dress. But, really, where else could I wear this but at a wedding? More specifically, that top? I bet you’re eyeing up that lovely tulle skirt. The material and that color!

I wish this post was about my mad sewing skills.  Its not. Its about my Mom’s mad sewing skills! I went to my Mom with what I wanted and she was able to finish it within a day.

First, she detached the top. Its the top that lets you know this is a bridesmaid dress. It had to go. She took a half inch of the material layers where she cut and flipped them inward to create a waistband.

The original zipper crossed both the bodice and skirt, so she had to cut that in half. She sealed the ends and reused the zipper pull tab for the skirt’s zipper.

And that’s all it took. So I went to a local thrift store and found a sweater to match the skirt.

Good bye bridesmaid dress, hello something I can reuse.

Leave a comment